Accepted!!

Yup,

My submission(however insignificant it might be :D) has been accepted into the 2.6.26 kernel. I’ve just received an email from Greg KH asking for attribution of my submission. Snippet of the mail follows…

Your email address shows up in the changelog for the 2.6.26 kernel
release as a contributor, but I can’t seem to place it with a company.
If you don’t mind, could you let me know what company you work for?  Or
if no company, do you want to be classified in any of these other
categories instead:
– Amateur/Hobbyist/None
– this category is for people who are doing kernel work, but
not getting paid by any corporation to do it.
– Consultant
– this category is for people who are consultants working on
the kernel and getting paid by other companies (not your
own) to do the work
– Academia
– this category is for people working for Universities and
doing kernel work as part of their research or other
responsibilities related to school work.
– Unknown
– this category is for people who want to remain in the
“unknown” category.

Well, I do use ubuntu. And seeing the dust raised by a recent comment by Greg KH himself(here) that ubuntu made some 5 changes in the past 5 years, I was tempted to attribute it to Ubuntu.

But I din’t know if it was fair for the ubuntu developers when I am not part of any official kernel  team to do that. So, I choose the amateur and hobbyist field.

Hope my contributions get larger and are significant enough from the next time onwards 🙂

One thought on “Accepted!!

  1. hasa says:

    congrats!! 🙂 proud of you… you should have selected someother field so that they could have recognised you better…

Leave a Reply

